MINUTES MCLEAN COUNTY REGIONAL PLANNING COMMISSION REGULAR MEETING

WEDNESDAY, December 5th, 2018, 4:00 P.M. GOVERNMENT CENTER, ROOM 404 115 EAST WASHINGTON STREET, BLOOMINGTON, ILLINOIS

Members Present:

Mary Jefferson, Chair; Michael Gorman, Executive Committee Representative; John Burrill; Jim Fruin; Mary Kramp; Carl Teichman; Linda Olson; Mark Wylie; Kelly Pyle

Members Absent:

Carl Olson

Others Present:

McLean County Regional Planning Commission staff - Jordan Brown, Office Manager; Vasudha Gadhiraju, Executive Director; Lauren Gibson, Community Planner; Teresa Anderson, Assistant Planner; Katherine Sawyer, Part-time employee; Scott Diveley, Intern; Town of Normal – Taylor Long, Associate Planner; Mercy Davison, Planner; League of Women Voters – Gretchen Monti; Sulaski & Webb, CPAs – Mary Ann Webb; Sean Hillary

Call To Order:

Ms. Jefferson called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m. and noted the presence of a quorum.

Public Comment:

None

Consent Agenda:

Ms. Jefferson called for a motion to approve the Consent Agenda as presented. Mr. Teichman moved for approval. Ms. Kramp seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

Ms. Jefferson took a moment to introduce and welcome Ms. Pyle to the Commission. Ms. Pyle stated that she will be representing Unit 5 on the Commission followed by her brief introduction of herself.

Regular Agenda:

FY 2018 Financial Audit

Ms. Webb and Mr. Hillary, from the accounting firm Sulaski and Webb, presented an overview the FY 2018 MCRPC financial audit. Ms. Webb noted a few items that were different in this audit compared to the previous years. Those include 1) fewer funds and expenses resulting from moving McGIS to the County in FY 2017, 2) the upcoming Fiscal Year change for MCRPC from July – June to January – December and 3) more aged

receivables than prior years. Ms. Gadhiraju added that IDOT allowed for extended funds for 6 more months. Mr. Hillary noted that there were some adjustments due to the change of accounting software (SAGE to QuickBooks). Ms. Jefferson then opened the item for questions from the Commissioners. Mr. Gorman expressed concern about the high indirect cost rate presented on page 26 of the audit report. Ms. Webb indicated that it looked like salaries in indirect were flipped with salaries in direct. Ms. Gadhiraju added that MCRPC the indirect cost rate calculation methodology changed in the last couple of years. Unlike during previous fiscal years, fringe benefits are now considered direct costs. She opined that this change in methodology might have caused some confusion in how the direct and indirect costs are accounted for. Mr. Wylie questioned if Sulaski & Webb can revise the audit. Ms. Webb responded in affirmation.

It was agreed, after discussion, that Sulaski and Webb and MCRPC staffers will look into the matter closely, revise the audit as appropriate and bring it back to the Commission for their formal action in February.

<u>Approval of Transportation and Land Use Connection (TLC) Program Application</u> Ms. Gadhiraju provided a brief presentation on the TLC program and identified the Commission's role in this program. She indicated that the first round of grant applications will be brought to the Commission for their final approval in February. Ms. Jefferson asked if there were any questions.

Ms. Jefferson called for a motion to approve the TLC program application. Mr. Gorman moved for approval of the TLC program application. Mr. Wylie seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

Election of 2019 Officers

Ms. Jefferson informed the Commission that the bylaws limit officers to three terms, and she had served three terms as Chair of the Commission. She then reviewed the election process that was provided in the Commissioners packets.

Ms. Jefferson called for nominations for the office of chairperson. Ms. Jefferson nominated Mr. Teichman for chairperson. Receiving no other nominations, Ms. Jefferson declared the nominations closed for the office of the Chairperson. She then called for a vote for the office of chairperson, and Mr. Teichman was unanimously elected.

Ms. Jefferson then called for nominations for the office of vice-chair. Mr. Teichman nominated Mr. Fruin for vice-chairperson. Ms. Jefferson nominated Ms. Kramp for vicechairperson. In the interest of not competing for the same position, Mr. Fuin turned down his nomination and supported Ms. Kramp's nomination for the vice chairperson. Ms. Jefferson declared the nominations closed. She then called for a vote for the office of vicechair, and Ms. Kramp was unanimously elected. Ms. Jefferson called for nominations for the office of member of the executive committee. Mr. Wylie nominated Mr. Fruin for the member of the executive committee. Receiving no other nominations, Ms. Jefferson declared the nominations closed. She then called for a vote for the office of member of the executive committee, and Mr. Fruin was unanimously elected.

<u>Cancellation of regularly scheduled January 2019 Commission Meeting</u> Ms. Gadhiraju indicated that the January meeting is typically cancelled due to holiday.

Ms. Jefferson called for a motion to approve the cancellation of the January 2019 meeting. Mr. Wylie moved to approve the cancelation of the January 2019 meeting. Ms. Kramp seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

Items of Information or Discussion:

2019 Commission Meeting schedule

Ms. Jefferson noted that the revised 2019 Commission meetings schedule distributed at the meeting is the most accurate one to follow.

That which may arise

Ms. Gadhiraju announced that MCRPC was recognized by Autism McLean with their Employer Award. This award is given to an employer who creates or advances employment opportunities for people with autism.

Ms. Jefferson indicated Mr. Gorman and Ms. Olson were resigning from the Commission and expressed her gratitude, on behalf of MCRPC and the Commission, for their work. Ms. Olson said that she had enjoyed her work on the Commission.

Adjournment:

Ms. Jefferson called for a motion to adjourn the meeting. Mr. Gorman moved to adjourn the meeting. Ms. Olson seconded the motion, which passed unanimously and the meeting adjourned at 4:40 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Jordan Brown Office Manager